Domain Expertise Support

Domain Expertise Support

Sven Burger, ZIB

"I am an expert in computational photonics. The main focus of my research is on numerical methods for simulating light-matter interactions on the nanoscale. Peter Tillmann's role in this field is to investigate and apply simulation and optimization methods for improving optical properties of nanotextured solar cells."

Homepage
Contact: burger@zib.de

Klaus Gwinner, DLR

"I am heading the Data Science working group in our department and ensure that Oleksii Martynchuk is given technical support. I particularly support the selection of the data and the scientific questions of the work."

Homepage

Contact:klaus.gwinner@dlr.de

Iver Lauermann, HZB

"I am studying the experimental determination of atomic scale chemical phenomena in chalcopyrite solar cells, which forms the counterpart for the numerical pattern recognition studies on outdoor degradation measurement data that Paolo Graniero is working on."

Homepage

Contact:iver.lauermann@helmholtz-berlin.de

Gregoire Montavon, TU

"I am an expert in machine learning, in particular, techniques for explaining the predictions of neural networks. I offer advice to Siddhant Agarwal on the design of machine learning models for forward and inverse problems."

Homepage

Contact: gregoire.montavon@tu-berlin.de

Jakob Nordin, HU

"I lead the AMPEL project ( https://github.com/AmpelProject/Ampel-core), a stream-based system that receives and analyzes astrophysics events generated by telescopes. Nicolas’ Miranda role is to extend the AMPEL system with machine learning capabilities."

Homepage

Contact:jnordin@physik.hu-berlin.de

Tristan Petit, HZB

"I am the experimentalist that is involved in the project of Kanishka Singh. I help in directing the scientific questions and provide a direct control of the theoretical predictions made by Kanishka, by providing experimental spectra for comparison."

Homepage

Contact:tristan.petit@helmholtz-berlin.de

Victor Ruiz López, HZB

"I am an expert in electronic-structure density functional theory (DFT) calculations of hybrid interfaces. I support and guide Thorren Gimm regarding the characterization of the nanodiamond-water interface and the (combinatorical) doping of nanodiamonds to generate useful data for intra- and extrapolation by machine learning."

Homepage

Contact: victor.ruiz@helmholtz-berlin.de

Christoph Sens-Schönfelder, GFZ

"I am an expert for monitoring seismic properties with interferometric methods and nonlinear elastic behaviour of rocks relevant to earthquake ruptureprocesses. I offer advice to Jannes Münchmeyer on analysis of massive data sets."

Homepage

Contact: christoph.sens-schoenfelder@gfz-potsdam.de

Kathleen Stoof-Leichsenring, AWI

"I am a researcher and Paleogenetic Lab leader at AWI in the section “Polar Terrestrial environmental systems”. My expertise is in (paleo-)ecological research in high northern latitudes. I contribute to the HEIBRiDS program via interaction with Femke van Geffen and Gregor Pfalz. I support them in the analysis and understanding of ecosystem dynamics."

Homepage

Contact:Kathleen.Stoof-Leichsenring@awi.de

Lauritz Thamsen, TU

"I contribute to the PhD project of Kevin Styp-Rekowski with my expertise in the areas of scalable data analytics, cluster computing, and resource management. In particular, I am helping to design adaptive scalable data ingestion and pre-processing pipelines as data of different sampling rate, signal amplitude, noise level, and latency has to be integrated in the project."

Homepage

Contact: lauritz.thamsen@tu-berlin.de

Graeme Weatherill, GFZ

"I am an expert in the development of ground-motion models. I offer advice to Jannes Münchmeyer on the analysis of the spacial correlation of ground-shaking fields."

Homepage

Contact:graeme.weatherill@gfz-potsdam.de